Aloha Western Region!

My name is Lila and I am the new Western Region Boatswain’s Mate. I’m 16 and currently a junior in high-school. When I was a freshman, my friend invited me to a Sea Scouts meeting held near my school. At the meeting, I met Skipper (Commodore Richardson). I also met many kids that I had seen around school, but never talked to. I quickly became friends with them and instantly fell in love with Sea Scouts.

Sea Scouts gave me the opportunity to make up for missed connections with the kids in the program, who are now my close friends. Since then, I have been an active member of the Kauai Sea Scouts program.

Aloha Council Boatswain (also soon to be "Able") Jacob S. mans the helm of Decisive

I have been many different cruises on SSS Decisive (the name of my ship). We circumnavigated the island of Kauai on all but one of the Decisive Summer cruises. The crew from each cruise has different, unique, yet equally hilarious sea stories. Every cruise made me realize that I could have fun without a TV, hot water, my own bed or my regular group of friends.

The first position I held in Sea Scouts was yeoman. The next position I held was Boatswain. Being the Boatswain was a difficult challenge, but everyone’s amazing help and kindness made it easier. After serving as Boatswain for a while, I was promoted to Boatswain of the Aloha Council. At first I was nervous to have the position, but I was confident in my skills as well as the support group that I had in my friends, shipmates, and Skipper.

Boatswain's Mate (and soon to be "Able") Taryn M. plotting a course aboard the SSS Decisive.

Upon the honor of receiving this position as the Western Region’s Boatswain’s mate, I felt the same way. I love the Aloha Council and I am excited for this opportunity meet new people, have new experiences, and to promote Sea Scouting across the Western Region.

To get to know me a little better, here are some things that I do outside of Sea Scouts. First of all, I am very fascinated with the arts. I love languages, and am currently studying Spanish and French. I take ballet classes and do charcoal artwork, but I am not very good at either because I’ve just started. I was on my high-school swim and cross-country teams. I enjoy traveling a lot, especially to Canada. I was an active cadet in the Army Junior Reserve Officer Training Corps program offered at my previous high-school. I was also part of the Civil Air Patrol Program on Kauai. I was a big sister in the Big Brother Big Sister program. I play piano and guitar, but piano is my favorite. I have an identical twin sister named Sachi who is also a member in Sea Scouts.

I am really looking forward to serving as the Western Region Boatswain’s Mate. I am excited for the new adventures to come. If you have any comments, questions, or would just like to say hi, I encourage you to post a comment; I will respond to every single one. Boatswains all the way down to beginning scouts: you are all a crucial part of Sea Scouts and I would love to hear from you. I wish you all the best of luck with your endeavors in this new year.

Aloha, Lila DeTreaux

2 thoughts on “Aloha Western Region!

  1. Lila – congratulations! Scouting has so much to offer and I’ve been involved in Girl Scouts and Boy Scouts most of my life, including my years as a Sea Scout. I served as Council President for the Explorer’s Association way back in the 1970’s. Enjoy the experience and cherish the memories.

Leave a Reply

